The Valentine

It came, it came through snailing mail.

How often I told him to send through e-mail.

But so fickle are men–and he is one–

I could not waste time arguing what cannot be redone.

At least, it came–so delighted I was–

I neglected to notice the white-out smudge,

Which later I discovered, through faithful friend–

His ex-wife’s name written by him!

How can a man be as thoughtless as this,

To regift an old valentine to his newly wedded miss?

Callous Swine! Wretched Thing!

And to think I engraved his wedding ring!

This is why he lies alone,

Wondering why I have gone.

But when the morning comes–he’ll know.

My new discovered boyfriend will tell him so.

Leave a comment

