What’s Your Software?

There are many programs writers can use other than Microsoft Word. No offense to the Word, which I used to use, but there are software that is made specifically for writers. Word is awesome, if you know how to use it well, but it still lacks features that can make it easier for us writers to do our work, whether you are a novelist, screenwriter, technical writer, etc.

I will list only a few programs I have heard about, but trust me–there is more–a whole lot more.
Let’s see. I will start with Write or Die. This is a web application that is more suited for those who need encouragement–for those who just can’t get themselves to sit at that desk, put their fingers to the keyboard, and write.

Write or Die by Dr Wicked:
As I said, Write or Die is a unique brand of tool that, in its own way, encourages you to write–no matter what. Intrigued? No? Well, you should be. There are levels you can choose–levels of punishment, if you don’t write. Though it sounds extreme, I have heard great reviews from people I know who claim to use it. If you are not interested in something unconventional, you should still take a peek. It’s worth a look.

Wizard of Words:

Now, Wizard of Words is  a tool that requires Microsoft Office. It helps set up, organize, and edit your work. I don’t know anyone personally who have used Wizard of Words, but it is something you can check out, if it sounds like a good match.

Master Edit:

I’ve tried this software and it is okay. It is downloaded onto a PC and doesn’t work with a word processor. This software is geared toward people who attack weaknesses in their writing like style, repeated words, weak words or phrases, etc. It also keeps track of word count and how many words you have in each sentence, which helps you avoid extremely long sentences.  Master Edit wasn’t a great fit for me, but feel free to check it out.

StyleWriter:

This application works with Microsoft Word and is geared toward editing your work by checking and modifying your style, word usage, grammar, etc to create a clearer document for readers to understand. It is quite helpful with graphs and statistics to help you decide what modification is needed. If this sounds great to you, check it out and happy writing!

Scrivener:

This amazing tool is what I use to write my novels. Scrivener helps with long documents like novels, screen writing, etc. It keeps your work organized according to what type of writing you do. If you are writing a novel, it allows you to separate your book by chapters or scenes and will organize it the way it should be for printing. It also helps with editing and organizing your research and notes–it even keeps track of websites you use. There are more features, but why spoil the fun. Check this out, if it appeals to you.

Now, I only talked about a few applications, but there are more I wish I could discuss. However, I don’t want to bore anyone, if I haven’t already, so here is a list you can research, if none of these I have discussed are to your liking. Thanks for reading and happy writing!

  • Final Draft (screen writers)
  • StoryMill
  • Celtx
  • yWriter
  • Story Craft Pro
Leave a comment

